Greyhats: Fall 2013 Recap

The Greyhats club is a Registered Independent Organization at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. It was founded in 2010 by five students who have since graduated. I have been a member of this club since Spring 2011, and have previously served as its Treasurer (Spring 2012) and Vice President (Fall 2012, Spring 2013).

The purpose of the Greyhats club is to educate its members in cybersecurity-related topics and to train for the annual Collegiate Cyberdefense Competition that happens every March. In the past, the Greyhats participated in the virtual regional, and I was on the CCDC 2012 team which placed 3rd. I was also a member of the CCDC 2013 team, which unfortunately did not place.

Though I prepared some basic Unix command tutorials this semester, I have stepped back from preparing instructional content for the club as my responsibilities for my undergraduate project have increased and I approach my target graduation date next semester. It is in the best interests of the club to have more active leadership that will be enrolled at the university for at least the next two semesters, so I did not run for President or Vice President. I am currently the Treasurer, a position which is largely ceremonial because the club did not do fundraising or apply for grants.

At the beginning of the semester, I configured a Google Groups forum for use as a discussion board for the club. This enabled us to move some discussions out of the mailing list to a format more suitable for longer conversations.

As in Spring 2013, I continued to serve as de facto Secretary by announcing meeting times, preparing meeting minutes, and distributing them to the mailing list. I also took up the management of the club’s new cloud file storage service account, uploading meeting minutes, tutorials, and presentations. I organized and uploaded documents from past CCDC events in 2011, 2012, and 2013 so that other members could use them to train for the 2014 CCDC. We have run into several situations this year where only one or two of us had some document that a former member had sent around. Creating an archive of tutorials and competition materials is a way for the club to try to preserve its institutional knowledge in a more organized way as members graduate.

